Skip to main content

The EU is a European political and economic union made up of 27 member states. As one of its goals, the EU strives towards "sustainable development based on balanced economic growth and price stability, a highly competitive market economy with full employment and social progress, and environmental protection". With respect to climate and air pollution, the EU climate law sets the objective for EU to be climate neutral by 2050 and the National Emission Reduction Commitments Directive sets 2030 emission reduction targets for fine particulate matter. Targets that encourage a specific focus on black carbon emission reduction.